Recently added releases

Top Viewed Artists

Total Play Stats


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Zany Woodruff Operation

Zany Woodruff Operation Genre Rock


Bookmark and Share
Releases (0)
Songs (0)


1. 5418

2. Crawlin’ Up A Hill

3. Harlem Shuffle

4. Closer Than Close

5. You Keep Me Hangin’ On

6. You Really Got Me

7. Fire

8. Turn To Earth

9. Distant Sounds

10. Tales of Brave Ulysses

11. Time Machine

12. You Should Have Been In My Place.

Recording date: 1966-1967

Group Members: Kenny Rooke (bass gtr, vocs), Pete Sewell (lead gtr, vocs), Graham Lockwood (kbds), Martin Garside (drums). Andrea Hanson (vocs), Russell Walker (tenor sax), Tony Light (trumpet).

Additional Info: Originated in Cleckheaton, Spen Valley, West Yorkshire in 1966. Band originally known as Satan and The Disciples. Kenny Rooke had previously played in The Icebergs. The band recorded at Radio Craft studios (situated at the back of a radio repair shop) in Huddersfiled, owned by Mat Mathias, inventor of the Matamp amplifier (aka Orange amps). The band also later recorded at R.G. Jones studios in Morden, Surrey before finally disbanding in late 1967. Martin Garside and Graham Lockwood went on to form Museum with Alan Holdsworth and Alan Rogers, but this was a short-lived band. Kenny Rooke went on to form Skin Deep (see entry).

Tracks 1 & 2 recorded at Radio Craft 13/12/1966. Tracks 3 & 4 recorded at Radio Craft 10/04/1967. Tracks 5 to 10 recorded at Radio Craft 20/10/1967. Tracks 11 & 12 recorded at R. G. Jones Studios 27/07/1967.

For further information:

All recorded and photographic material submitted by Kenny Rooke, Graham Lockwood. 2012.

All recorded and photographic material copyright Zany Woodruff Operation, K. Rooke, G. Lockwood. 2012.

Special thanks to: Kenny Rooke, Graham Lockwood, Pete Bradley.

Hits 423

Random Artists

# Artist Releases Songs
1 Peanut Rubble 1 3
2 Unicorn 1 2
3 The Pathfinders (Glasgow) 0 0
4 Fantasy 0 0
You are here:   BMAZZany Woodruff Operation