Top Viewed Artists

Total Play Stats


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Outer Limits

Genre Rock


Bookmark and Share
Releases (0)
Songs (0)


1.    The Dream
2.    Stop
3.    Everything I Touch
4.    Anyday Now
5.    See It My Way
6.    Funny Clown
7.    Listen
8.    Paper Jake
9.    Days Of Spring
10.    Epitaph For a Nonentity
11.    Man In The Middle Of Nowhere
12.    It’s Your Turn Now
13.    Dancing Water
14.    Look At Me
15.    Run For Cover
16.    Mr. Magee’s Incredible banjo Band
17.    Tomorrow Night


Recording date: 1966-1968

Group Members: Jeff Christie (gtr, vocs), Gerry Layton (gtr, saxophone), Gerry Smith (bass gtr, vocs), Stan Drogie (drums), Steve Isherwood (gtr, vocs), Rod Palmer (drums)

Additional Info: Originated from Leeds, West Yorkshire circa 1961 as The Tremmers became the Outer Limits in 1963. Group founded by Jeff Christie. The Outer Limits’ first recording was When The Work I Thru, released for Leeds University Student Rag week in 1967 on the local Elephant record label. The band were managed by eff Christie’s father and signed by London music agent, Dru Harvey. Christie’s father paid for the demo recording session and the results were issued as a single in April 1967 on Deram records (Decca records). The resulting single failed to cahrt, but it gave the band a chance to play alongside other acts such as Jimi Hendrix (Experience), Pink Floyd, The Move, Eire Apparent, The Nice and Amen Corner. Accordingf to Jeff Christie, it was this tour that gave him the inspiration and confidence to concentrate on his own songwriting thus taking in the musical freedom espoused by Jimi Hendrix, The Move and Pink Floyd. The band were then spotted by Andrew Loog Oldham who produced their second single for his own Immediate label and it’s imprint Instant records. Great Train Robbery was issued in 1968, but again, the record failed to chart, a fact that could be down to the BBC’s refusal to play it as it was deemed too sensitive a subject. Although the charts eluded them, plans were made for a third single and the band recorded anotherv Jeff Christie song, The Dream (produced by Bill Landis). The Dream failed to get a release and returned home deflated and out of money in late 1968. The group was televised in 1968 being the subject of a programme called Death Of a Pop Group (hosted by Austin Mitchell – later a Labour Party MP). Christie went on to tout his own songs to people such as Long John Baldry and Gene Pitney
Recordings made at Radiocraft studios, Huddersfield, 1966-1968. Recordings engineered and produced by Mat Mathias.
Radiocraft recordings (masters) preserved and transferred by Jeff Lewis at Matamp. Recordings digitally transferred from quarter-inch tape in 2006.
All songs composed by Jeff Christie. Published by Christabel music.

Hits 1151
You are here:   BMAOOuter Limits